The Game
Schedule of Events

2004 Game
Great Games
Great PlayersHome

Washburn University and Bemidji State
named for 51st Mineral Water Bowl Game

The Mineral Water Bowl Committee has announced the teams to participate in the 51st Mineral Water Bowl game to be held Saturday, December 3, 2016 at Tiger Stadium in Excelsior Springs, MO. Kickoff is scheduled for 12 p.m. (noon). Washburn Ichadbod's (Topeka, KS) tied for 4th in the MIAA with a 7-4 record vs the Bemidji State University Beavers (Bemidji, MN) 2nd place in the north division and tied for 3rd overall in the NSIC with an 8-3 record.

The Ichabod's of Washburn University will be making their second trip to the Mineral Water Bowl defeating Northern State (SD) in 2004 36-33 in the first bowl game played at Tiger Stadium.

Head Coach Craig Schurig in his 15th season comes in to the games as the winningest coach in Ichabod's history with a 103-68 mark three NCAA Playoff appearances and two bowl appearance championships. Washburn won the MIAA championship in 2005.

Washburn's offense is led by SR QB Derrick McGinnis with 2170 yards passing and 14 TD's. His two favorite targets are SR RB Bryce Chavis with 628 yards and 4 TD's along with SOPH WR Jake Horner 458 yards and 3 TD's. The rushing attack is anchored by JR RB Mickeal Stewart with 645 yards and 8 TD's.

SR LB Cody Herman leads the Ichabod defense with 96 tackles, SR DE Spencer Matthews 12 tackles for loss and SR DE Achmad Abdul-Razzag 4.5 sacks. The secondary is led by SR DB Keaton Cofield and SR FS Trevin Wiens with 3 interceptions each.

The Bemidji State Beavers will be making their second appearance in the Mineral Water Bowl with a 0-1 bowl record.

Interium Head Coach Brent Bolte took over the head coaching duties in 2016 has been with the Beavers for 18 years. Bolte is a 1998 graduate of Cornell College in Mt. Vernon, IA, where he was the career leader in tackles (since broken).

On offense the Beavers enter the bowl game scoring 45.5 points per game with 2570 yards rushing and 3207 yards passing for the season. SR RB Gene Adams leads the ground game with 995 yards on the season and 8 TD's. The touchdown leader is JR RB Tahi Womane with 11. JR QB Jordan Hein leads the way when throwing the ball with 2680 yards and 26 TD's for an average of 298.9 yards per game. Hein's favorite targets are SR WR Juwann Richard with 730 yards and 7 TD's along with JR WR Blake Holder's 504 yards and 7 TD's.

The Beaver defense is only giving up an average of 24.5 points per game. SOPH CB Gunner Olszewski leads the unit with 85 tackles while JR DE Alex Burgess has 7.5 sacks. SR DB Damon Benham leads the secondary with 6 interceptions.

Read more

Tickets | Schedule | Merchandise | Contact | Game | History | Great Games | Great Players | Home